Home » Lagos Assembly congratulates Tinubu, Sanwo-Olu
Sponsored Posts

Lagos Assembly congratulates Tinubu, Sanwo-Olu

The Lagos State House of Assembly has congratulated President-elect Bola Tinubu and Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu after victories at the presidential and governorship elections.

The members also felicitated with their running mates Senator Kashim Shettima and Deputy Governor Obafemi Hamzat, as well as the Lagos Speaker, Mudashiru Obasa, who they described as a record breaker after he was re-elected on March 18 for the sixth time to represent Agege Constituency 1.

In his remarks at plenary on Monday, Obasa told his colleagues that the election produced some lessons and urged political scientists “to x-ray the situation”.

“Some sitting governors lost to the opposition. The election has come and gone but there is a need to look again to see what we left undone and what we need to sustain,” Obasa stated, noting that the outcome of elections in the United States, considered a leading democracy, are still being challenged by some candidates.

He advised those “beating drums of war and anger” to accept the outcome of the 2023 electoral process and channel their grievances through the courts.

Obasa further urged Nigerians to observe restraint, be more patriotic and avoid actions that may adversely affect the nation.

“The Muslim-Muslim ticket was a bold one. There are those who favoured it and those who were against it. The election has happened; it was good, it was successful,” he said.

The Leader of the House, Sanai Agunbiade, in a motion under ‘Matter of Urgent Public Importance’, said although the general polls are over, “national healing is necessary.”

Other lawmakers – Yinka Ogundimu, Bisi Yusuff, Setonji David, Adedamola Kasunmu and Victor Akande – hailed Obasa, saying his leadership produced a Senator-elect and House of Representatives member-elect.

Disclaimer: No copyright infringement intended. All rights and credits reserved to respective owner(s).

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment