Home » Profile: Brief Biography, State Of Origin Of New Ministers Nominated By President Buhari

Profile: Brief Biography, State Of Origin Of New Ministers Nominated By President Buhari

President Buhari Breaks Silence On APC Leadership Crisis

President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday forwarded a list of seven Minister-nominees to the Senate for screening and approval as substantive Ministers.

The President in his letter read by Senate President Ahmad Lawan during plenary ended speculations that some of his former Ministers who resigned to pursue 2023 political ambitions will be making a return to the cabinet.

The list as earlier reported by Naija News, contains the names of those expected to replace former Ministers such as Rotimi Amaechi, Godswill Akpabio, Ogbonnaya Onu, and others who resigned to pursue their political ambitions.

The fresh nominees are:

1. Henry Ikechukwu Ikoh
2. Umana Okon Umana
3. Egwumakama Joseph Nkama
4. Goodluck Nnana Opiah
5. Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub
6. Ademola Adewole Adegoroye
7. Odum Odih

Below are their short profiles and states of origin.


Ikoh joined the All Progressives Congress (APC) from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the year 2020.

Before his defection, he was the Abia State Commissioner for industry, science and technology.

He was subsequently nominated by the Abia State Chapter of the APC to be the national vice-chairman in the south-east but was beaten to the position by Ijeomah Arodiogbu who emerged through consensus.


Umana served as the secretary to the state government (SSG) when Godswill Akpabio was the Akwa Ibom State governor.

He joined APC in 2014 after resigning his position and emerged as the 2015 APC Akwa Ibom governorship candidate but lost to Emmanuel Udom.

He is currently the managing director of the Oil and Gas Free Zones Authority (OGFZA).


Nkama was appointed commissioner for investment in 2019 by Governor David Umahi of Ebonyi. Before the appointment, he served as a special adviser to the Governor in the Abuja liaison office.

He was affected by the decision of Umahi in 2021 to dissolve most of his cabinet members.


Opiah served as the eighth speaker of the Imo state house of assembly.

In 2013, he was appointed chairman of the board of Agricultural and Rural Management Institute (ARMTI) by former President Goodluck Jonathan.

He is also a former member of the House of Representatives who represented the Ohaji/Egbema/Oguta/Oru west federal constituency in the National Assembly.


El-Yakubu is the senior special assistant on house of representatives matters to President Muhammadu Buhari. A position he was appointed to in 2019.

He is also a former member of the house of representatives, who served his constituency between 2003 and 2007.


Adegoroye hails from Akure in Ondo state. He contested the APC primary for the Akure north/south federal constituency bye-election and lost to Mayokun Lawanson-Alade.


Udi was born on July 24, 1972, in Abua/Odual LGA of Rivers.

He became the chairman of Abua/Odual LGA in 2008 and was re-elected for another term in 2011.

He is the chief executive officer (CEO) of Opelia Farms Limited.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment